Registration, Multiculturalism, Native Citizens, Women, Citizenship Participation, Official Language Minority Groups and Human Rights.

The Secretary of State reports to Parliament for the Canadian Film Development Corporation, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Museums of Canada, the Canada Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Public Service Commission and acts as spokesman for the Office of the Representation Commissioner.

Department of the Solicitor General. Before 1936, the Office of the Solicitor General was either a Cabinet post or a ministerial post outside the Cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the office being wholly absorbed by the Attorney General of Canada. The Solicitor General Act, 1945 reestablished the Solicitor General as a Cabinet officer and provided that "the Solicitor General shall assist the Minister of Justice in the Counsel work of the Department of Justice, and shall be charged with such other duties as are at any time assigned to him by the Governor-in-Council". This legislation was repealed in 1966 when a new Department of the Solicitor General was created (RSC 1970, c.S-12); the Solicitor General of Canada became the Cabinet Minister with primary responsibility in the fields of correction and law enforcement. He is responsible for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the Canadian Penitentiary Service and also reports to Parliament for the National Parole Board, which is an independent agency.

Department of Supply and Services. This department was established on April 1, 1969 (RSC 1970, c.S-18) to furnish certain services previously provided by other departments, in line with the recommendations of the Royal Commission on Government Organization (Glassco Commission) which had stressed the need for the federal government to foster efficiency and effect economies wherever possible. The Minister of Supply and Services is also the Receiver General for Canada and exercises all the duties, powers and functions assigned to that office by law.

The department is organized into two major administrations, each headed by a deputy minister directly responsible to the minister. The Supply Administration administers the Supply Program, the objective to acquire and provide, at minimum cost consonant with the attainment of national goals, goods and services required by federal government departments and agencies. It also maintains federal government equipment and provides printing facilities. Since the 1973-74 fiscal year, the Supply Administration has been on a cost recovery basis with respect to the costs of services rendered to its customers. The Supply Administration has 18 regional or district supply offices across Canada and overseas supply office in London, England and Koblenz, the Federal Republic of Germany. At various locations it provides purchasing and warehousing services and other services such as field contract administration, equipment maintenance, security, emergency supply planning, assets management and printing. The Supply Administration is organized into Commercial Supply Service, Science and Engineering Procurement Service and Corporate Management Service.

The Services Administration, acting for the Receiver General, provides payment or cheque-issuing services on behalf of all federal departments, maintains the fiscal accounts of Canada and prepares the public accounts. It offers departments and agencies a broad range of management and advisory services in management consulting, auditing and computer services fields. It also provides administrative services for all departments in connection with pay, pensions and other employee benefit plans, together with financial management reports and statistical information. Service functions are carried out through regional and district offices throughout Canada and abroad.

The Minister of Supply and Services reports to Parliament for the Canadian Commercial Corporation, Canadian Arsenals Limited, Crown Assets Disposal Corporation and the Royal Canadian Mint. The minister also has the responsibilities of the Custodian of Enemy Property under the Trading with the Enemy (Transitional Powers) Act, which consists of receiving, managing, releasing and disposing of properties seized from enemy interests during wartime.

Department of Transport. The Department of Transport is a corporate structure of operating administrations and Crown corporations, having varying degrees of autonomy, together with separate agencies for development and economic regulation. A departmental headquarters staff supports the minister and deputy minister in the functions of planning, policy formulation and assessment of program achievements.

The Canadian Marine Transportation Administration coordinates the activities of the Canadian Coast Guard, National Harbours Board and the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority. Its operations include management of the St. Lawrence Seaway through the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority and direct supervision of 13 major harbours and other facilities through the National Harbours Board; 300 public harbours and 11 others are administered by the Canadian Coast Guard and commissions under the supervision of the department. It is also responsible through the Canadian Coast Guard for the provision and maintenance of aids to navigation including Vessel Traffic Management Systems, marine search and rescue, ship safety inspection services, pilotage services and the management and operation of the Coast Guard fleet.